IWBF 2020
8th International Workshop
on Biometrics and Forensics

April 29-30, 2020, Porto, Portugal

About IWBF

About IWBF

The 2020 International Workshop on Biometrics and Forensics (IWBF 2020) is jointly organized by the Institute for Systems and Computer Engineering, Technology and Science (INESC TEC) & the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) and will be held at Porto, Portugal, on April 29-30, 2020. IWBF is an international forum devoted to facilitating synergies in research and development among the areas of multimedia forensics, forensic biometrics, and forensic science. IWBF provides the meeting place for those concerned with the use of advanced biometric technologies in forensic applications, attracting participants from industry, research, academia, and end-users.

Call for Papers

Important Dates

Submission: January 10, 2020 (AoE)
Notification: February 17, 2020
Camera-ready & Registration: February 28, 2020
Conference: April 29-30, 2020

Topics of Interest

  • Multimedia forensics
  • Forensic behavioural biometrics
  • People identification
  • Combination of multimodal biometrics
  • Video surveillance
  • Ethical and societal implications
  • Case studies in biometrics and forensics
  • and more...
More Info





Porto is Portugal’s second-largest city, European Best Destination in 2017, 2014, and 2014. Full of contrasts within a small area, Porto offers a diversity of styles and ambiances. In this city of great wine and long history, you will enjoy the famous baroque style monuments and the worldwide famous Port Wine cellars. With the World Heritage Douro Riverside on the background, the narrow and sinouous cobbled streets of this old and charming city contrast with the growing innovation, cutting edge technology, and technological startups that have made this city their home.


General Chairs
Honorary Chairs
Speaker 1

Mark Nixon

University of Southampton

Speaker 1

Arun Ross

Michigan State University

Programme Chairs
Speaker 1

Lena Klasén

Swedish Police Authority

Speaker 1

Andreas Uhl

University of Salzburg

Speaker 1

Hugo Proença

IT, University of Beira Interior

Advisory Chairs
Speaker 1

Massimo Tistarelli

University of Sassari

Speaker 1

Christoph Busch

NTNU, Hochschule Darmstadt, Fraunhofer IGD

Speaker 1

Raymond Veldhuis

University of Twente

Speaker 1

Paulo Lobato Correia

Instituto Superior Técnico

Speaker 1

Chang-Tsun Li

University of Warwick

Local Organisation Chairs
Publication Chairs
Speaker 1

Fernando Alonso-Fernandez

Halmstad University

Speaker 1

Marta Gomez-Barrero

Hochschule Darmstadt

Speaker 1

Naser Damer

Fraunhofer IGD

Publicity Chairs
Speaker 1

Javier Galbally

European Commission Joint Research Centre

Speaker 1

Sara Oliveira


Sponsorship & Industry Liaison Chairs
Speaker 1

Ana Rebelo


Demo Chairs
Speaker 1

André Lourenço

CardioID Technologies, ISEL

Speaker 1

João R. Pinto




*sponsors under approval process